Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Noyes Law Office, P.C. Get back on the road to freedom!
  • Get Back On The Road To Freedom!
  • ~
  • Free No Obligation Consultation

Important Workers’ Compensation Time Limitations to be Aware of in Iowa

SSDI_4

Here in Iowa we have workers’ compensation laws that require most employers within the state to provide benefits to employees who sustain qualifying injuries or illnesses in the course of their employment. However, in order to be eligible to collect workers’ compensation benefits in Iowa the injured employee must abide by several key time limitations. Some of Iowa’s most important workers’ compensation time limitations are as follows:

  • Providing Notice of Injury: Under section 85.23 of the Iowa Code injured employees who wish to recover workers’ compensation benefits are required to notify their employer of their injury within 90 days of its occurrence, or within 90 days of the date on which the employee knew or should have known of their injury, unless the employer already had actual knowledge that the injury occurred.

This notice is not required to be presented in a particular manner (although providing notice in writing is always advisable from a legal standpoint), however it must be sufficient to inform the employer that a specific employee sustained a work-related injury at a specified time and place. Be aware that this notice can be provided by either the injured employee or by someone else on the employee’s behalf.

  • Two-Year Time Limit: Section 85.26 of the Iowa Code affords injured employees who have not received weekly workers’ compensation benefits in Iowa within two years of the date on which they were injured the opportunity to file an application for arbitration. However, injured employees who have not received weekly workers’ compensation benefits or filed an application for arbitration before this two-year time period expires may be denied benefits for violating this two-year statute of limitations.
  • Three-Year Time Limit: Section 85.26 of the Iowa Code also sets a statute of limitation that affords injured employees who have been paid weekly workers’ compensation benefits in Iowa three years from the date of their last payment to file an action for additional benefits with the workers’ compensation commissioner. Injured employees who fail to file a claim for additional benefits within this three-year window may be denied additional benefits, however, it is important to note that this statute of limitations does not apply to injured employees who are applying for additional benefits needed to pay for medical expenses that are reasonably necessary to treat the employee’s injury.

Please note: abiding by these times limitations is extremely important as injured employees who fail to do so may be denied workers’ compensation benefits in Iowa! 

Let Us Assist You Today 

If you’ve suffered a work-related injury or illness and are interested in collecting workers’ compensation in Iowa it is essential that you abide by all of the time limitations outlined above. Unfortunately this is sometimes easier said than done. If you have questions about when or how to file notice or claims regarding your injury or illness the experienced workers’ compensation lawyers of the Noyes Law Office P.C. are here to help. Our firm offers free no obligation consultations to prospective clients so if you have any questions related to an Iowa workers’ compensation claim contact our Fairfield office today at (641) 472-3236 and set up an appointment.

  • $1 Million
    Truck vs. auto case. Policy limits a 35 year old married mother of two killed.
  • $812 Thousand
    Rear-End Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $650 Thousand
    Settlement for spouse of deceased worker.
  • $575 Thousand
    Premises Liability Settlement
  • $500 Thousand
    Auto accident settlement with resulting post-concussive head complications (no wage loss).
  • $350 Thousand
    Injury from work with complications after surgery.
  • $300 Thousand
    Policy limits for 88 year old man rear ended.
  • $190 Thousand
    Read-End Accident with Tinitus Diagnosis.
  • $180 Thousand
    Slip and fall with a broken arm and torn rotator cuff.
  • $190 Thousand
    Bilateral carpal tunnel injury- $135,000 against the employer and $55,000 against the Second Injury Fund.
  • $185 Thousand
    Injured back.
  • $175 Thousand
    Broken leg of a 67 year old.
  • $160 Thousand
    Broken hip of 83 year old woman.
  • $155 Thousand
    Non-displaced fractured hip.
  • $100 Thousand
    Aggravation of degeneration disk disease.
  • Previous
  • Next

Get Back On The Road To Freedom!

Free No Obligation Consultation

Our Southeast Iowa personal injury, workers compensation and bankruptcy attorneys serve clients in Fairfield, Ottumwa, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa City, Knoxville, Oskaloosa, Fort Madison, Muscatine, Keosauqua, Birmingham, Centerville, Bloomfield, Keokuk, Sigourney, Richland, Burlington, Washington & Columbus Junction.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation