Iowa Workers’ Compensation FAQs
Did you know that here in Iowa most employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance so that employees who experience a qualifying work-related injury or illness are able to collect workers’ compensation benefits? Because the ins and outs of Iowa’s workers’ compensation system can be a bit confusing a brief overview of this important system is provided below in a question and answer format. However, it is important to note that each workers’ compensation case is unique and that any case specific questions should be directed to a local workers’ compensation attorney.
Q: Who is eligible to collect workers’ compensation in Iowa?
A: In a nutshell, non-exempt employees (aka those who are covered by Iowa’s workers’ compensation system) in Iowa are generally eligible to collect workers’ compensation benefits if they (1) suffer from a qualifying injury or illness (2) provide notice of their injury or illness in a timely manner, and (3) file a claim for benefits before the applicable statute of limitations expires. To find out more check out our article Who is Eligible to Collect Workers’ Compensation in Iowa?
Q: What sort of workers’ compensation benefits are available in Iowa?
A: Generally speaking, an Iowa employee who is entitled to collect workers’ compensation benefits will be able to recover:
- The costs of any reasonable and necessary medical expenses incurred due to the qualifying injury or illness,
- 80 percent of their weekly earnings (up to a certain amount) if the employee missed more than three days of work due to a qualifying short-term disability,
- 80 percent of their weekly earnings (up to a certain amount) if the employee suffered a qualifying permanent disability, and/or
- Up to 66.67 percent of the difference between their average earnings and their actual earnings if, as a result of a qualifying injury or illness, they are forced to take lesser-paying work.
Q: How long do I have to file my workers’ compensation claim?
A: Be aware, you have a limited amount of time to file your workers’ compensation claim! Under Iowa’s workers’ compensation laws there are a couple key deadlines to be aware of. First, there is a notice deadline that requires employees seeking workers’ compensation to notify their employer of their work-related injury or illness within 90 days. Second, there is a statute of limitations (contained in section 85.26 of the Iowa Code) which states that workers in Iowa must generally commence a proceeding for workers’ compensation benefits within two years of the date on which the employee was injured. For more information check out our article Workers’ Compensation in Iowa: How Long Do I Have to File My Claim?
Have More Questions? Contact a Local Workers’ Compensation Attorney
If you or a loved one suffered a work-related injury or illness you likely have a lot of questions about your legal rights and options. That’s why here at the Noyes Law Office P.C. we offer a free initial consultation to prospective clients who would like to have their case reviewed by an experienced Southeast Iowa workers’ compensation attorney and ask any questions that they may have. To schedule your no obligation consultation contact our Fairfield office today at (641) 472-3236.