Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Noyes Law Office, P.C. Get back on the road to freedom!
  • Get Back On The Road To Freedom!
  • ~
  • Free No Obligation Consultation

Workers’ Compensation in Iowa: How Long Do I Have to File My Claim?

WorkInjury5

While each state has a workers’ compensation system in place to benefit employees who are injured while on the job, each state also has its own statute of limitations which limits the timeframe within which an injured employee can file a claim for workers’ compensation benefits. This article provides a brief overview of Iowa’s workers’ compensation statute of limitations, however, in some cases it can be hard to determine precisely when an individual’s statute of limitations clock starts to run so it is always advisable to get your claim filed as soon as possible.

Iowa’s Statute of Limitations on Workers’ Compensation Claims

Iowa’s statute of limitations for workers’ compensation claims is contained in section 85.26 of the Iowa Code of Law and states that, generally speaking, a proceeding for workers’ compensation benefits must be commenced within two years of the date on which the employee was injured. However, if the employee has been paid weekly workers’ compensation benefits then the employee has three years from the date of the last payment within which he or she may file a claim for workers’ compensation. If an injured employee fails to file their claim during these prescribed time periods Iowa’s statute of limitations can bar, or prevent, the employee from filing their workers’ compensation claim.

Keep in mind that in some cases it can be tricky to determine the precise date on which an employee was injured. For example, if an employee falls ill from an asbestos-related lung disease after working with asbestos for years it will be challenging for a court to determine when exactly that employee’s statute of limitations clock began running. Therefore, if you are interested in filing a workers’ compensation claim be sure to contact a local attorney as soon as possible.

The Notice Requirement

Employees injured in Iowa should also be aware of another important workers’ compensation deadline; the notice deadline. Iowa law requires injured employees to notify their employer of all work-related injuries within 90 days. If an injured employee fails to meet this notice requirement, and is unable to show that their employer had actual knowledge of the injury, then the employee may be denied workers’ compensation benefits. Because of this notice requirement, employees should take care to notify their employer of any injury that they sustain at work, even if they do not initially expect to file a claim for workers’ compensation. Additionally, employees who contract a work-related disease should make sure to notify their employer within 90 days of the disease’s first manifestation.

Need Legal Advice?

If you or a loved one has suffered due to a work-related injury or illness make sure to pursue the workers’ compensation benefits that you are entitled to as soon as possible in order to best avoid having your claim barred by Iowa’s statute of limitations. The experienced attorneys at the Noyes Law Office, P.C. understand the detailed ins and outs of our state’s statute of limitations and work tirelessly to ensure that their clients’ claims have the best chance of success possible. If you are interested in pursuing a workers’ compensation claim in Iowa contact our Fairfield office at (641) 472-3236 to schedule a no obligation consultation.

Resource:

coolice.legis.iowa.gov/cool-ice/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=iowacode&input=85

  • $1 Million
    Truck vs. auto case. Policy limits a 35 year old married mother of two killed.
  • $812 Thousand
    Rear-End Motor Vehicle Accident
  • $650 Thousand
    Settlement for spouse of deceased worker.
  • $575 Thousand
    Premises Liability Settlement
  • $500 Thousand
    Auto accident settlement with resulting post-concussive head complications (no wage loss).
  • $350 Thousand
    Injury from work with complications after surgery.
  • $300 Thousand
    Policy limits for 88 year old man rear ended.
  • $190 Thousand
    Read-End Accident with Tinitus Diagnosis.
  • $180 Thousand
    Slip and fall with a broken arm and torn rotator cuff.
  • $190 Thousand
    Bilateral carpal tunnel injury- $135,000 against the employer and $55,000 against the Second Injury Fund.
  • $185 Thousand
    Injured back.
  • $175 Thousand
    Broken leg of a 67 year old.
  • $160 Thousand
    Broken hip of 83 year old woman.
  • $155 Thousand
    Non-displaced fractured hip.
  • $100 Thousand
    Aggravation of degeneration disk disease.
  • Previous
  • Next

Get Back On The Road To Freedom!

Free No Obligation Consultation

Our Southeast Iowa personal injury, workers compensation and bankruptcy attorneys serve clients in Fairfield, Ottumwa, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa City, Knoxville, Oskaloosa, Fort Madison, Muscatine, Keosauqua, Birmingham, Centerville, Bloomfield, Keokuk, Sigourney, Richland, Burlington, Washington & Columbus Junction.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation